The Year in Review 2013

It’s that time of the yearagain.

# What did you do in 2013 that you’ve never done before?

Wore contact lenses. Danced blues. Wore a lot of colourful nail polish. Got into fan culture.

None of the above are related.

# Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t think I made any actual resolutions, but I inched my way towards some changes I’ve been meaning to make for a long time. The plan is to keep inching away.

# Did anyone close to you give birth?

A consistent no, this one. I did observe some kittens and their mothers via a webcam – does that count?

# Did anyone close to you die?

Death didn’t come, unexpectedly or otherwise.

# What countries did you visit?

Norway, again. The same town as last year. What’s that about?

# What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013?

I think last year’s answer will do just fine:

A proper kitchen (afraid not), a proper washing machine (equally unlikely), better time management (joking, right?).

I might even do something about some of these this year. Oh, and I need a plan. A plan would be useful.

# What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I have an etchproof memory. Dates don’t stick with me. But I did spend most of September in Scotland, I think I’ll remember that.

# What’s your biggest achievement of the year?

I’m not into value judgements atm so here’s a list: I finished a thing that I started (long-distance studying), I sorted out very necessary stuff for my PhD and upgraded, I did a fair bit of dancing and some of it in places that required me to get over my (well-founded, in those instances) inferiority complex and just get on with it, I learnt to lead a swing out,  I took positive steps to cure my back problems, I got over my eye phobia, I started to meditate semi-regularly… Many of these (not the studying) boil down to going against my natural timidity/cautiousness/pessimism, which can only be a good thing. Even taking a risk that led me to fall.

# What was your biggest failure?

I can think of some things that didn’t go to plan, or didn’t happen the way I hoped they would, but that’s neither here nor there. I don’t think they’re useful stories to indulge in.

# Did you suffer illness or injury?

The old stuff kicked up a notch, but for once I have something of note to report: I fell from shoulder-height onto my hand, bent my elbow the wrong way and for weeks had actual proper bruises to boast about. There were x-rays. Also, pain-induced insomnia.

# What’s the best thing you bought?

Certain theatre & workshop tickets. Or the contact lenses that allowed me to enjoy those theatre tickets to the full. Or my new glasses (back to rimless lightness, yay). Or the mattress cover that made my bed a little less springy.  I don’t want to choose, but that list is probably in order of importance.

# Whose behaviour merited celebration?

I seem to have given up on the news completely but I met someone through work who made a big difference to my ability to do my job and just in general became a source of inspiration.

# Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

People do terrible things to the planet and everyone and everything on it. You know how it is.

# Where did most of your money go?

Nothing has changed: rent, transportation, tuition fees.

# What did you get really, really excited about?

Punchdrunk’s The Drowned Man: A Hollywood Fable. I could easily gush about it for hours, and have done.

# What song will always remind you of 2013?

Bohemian Rhapsody will always bring back my time in Scotland. As will this:

Also this:

# Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Richer or poorer? Thinner or fatter?

  • I am, possibly, strangely, almost disconcertingly (especially considering the next bullet point) somewhat happier. Or more hopeful/optimistic. Just now, anyway.
  • Poverty awaits.
  • I started the holiday period thinner. This “problem” has now ceased to exist. ;)

# What do you wish you’d done more of?

Singing. And I hardly touched the violin. And I could have danced all night… But also, I wish I’d worked a little more. I’m far, far too good at procrastinating.

# What do you wish you’d done less of?

Well, procrastinating, obv.

# How did you spend Christmas?

With mum. The usual.

# Did you fall in love in 2013?

With Punchdrunk, yes.

# What was your favourite TV program?

Hmm. I kind of got into Once Upon a Time, although it has many flaws… Doctor Who was still enjoyable, but problematic… The Great British Bake Off was nice but not as good as previous series… Tudor Monastery Farm became a bit same-y compared to what they’ve done before… Oh I don’t know. QI is pretty reliable year after year.

# Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Not at all.

# What was the best book you read?

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.

# What was your greatest musical discovery?

I liked Ricky-Tick Big Band & Julkinen Sana, and I’ve been listening to some blues.

# What did you want and get?

Effective back treatment that made dancing (and walking, and everything) a lot more enjoyable at least briefly.

# What did you want and not get?

Bygones.

# What was your favourite film of this year?

I didn’t see much, so Star Trek 2 is the winner by default.

# What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I can’t quite remember…I’ll need to check my old diary (not with me right now). Just hung out on my own, anyway.

# What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Lack of a mid-life crisis, perhaps? Although it can be quite healthy as well.

# How would you describe your personal fashion concept for 2013?

Corduroy. Jacket and trousers. Sometimes at the same time.

# What kept you sane?

Dancing. Meditating. The occasional, well-timed chat with a friend. Plus medication, of course.

# What celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I rediscovered Robert Carlyle.

# What political issue stirred you the most?

Right-wing politicians doing their best to dismantle the welfare state.

# Who did you miss?

Imaginary friends.

# Who was the best new person you met?

I met many lovely people. Some I danced with, some I talked with, some tried to make me better. They were all the best.

# Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013.

Breathe. Pay attention. Be kind. Not so much learned as realised that I want to learn.

And with that, happy new year! I seem to have adopted noisy neighbours for the night, so I might stay up for the beginning of this one.

Howl at the moon

