Screw you guys, I’m going commercial (or why I hate the BBC)

This is why I hate the BBC. Every few months some technical glitch robs me of my carefully collected store of things to watch later. Many of them things I really, really wanted to see and was saving for later. Some of them things I just didn’t have time to watch at the time but was rather looking forward to. Most of them things that aren’t available on the iPlayer anymore.

So this time I lost the last episodes of Wartime Farm, and now I’ll never get beyond the first two episodes of Gavin & Stacey, and there were a couple of interesting documentaries as well… The futility of having planned when to enjoy them and the rude unpredictability of these service break downs makes me angry and aggressive. How bloody hard can it be to create a system that doesn’t regularly self-destruct?!

Now I have to hurry up and stream the latest QI XL just to make sure I don’t miss it – even though it’s way past my bedtime. Fuck you, BBC iPlayer. (Ah, it feels good to vent. While I’m at it: stop offering to take me to the new radio site. Either just make the switch or leave me alone rather than make me choose every time I want to check what’s on the radio.)

One Response to Screw you guys, I’m going commercial (or why I hate the BBC)

  1. Yeah I hate it when this happens. And last time’s solution doesn’t work this time. :-/ Seems like it’s an issue with Adobe Air/Flash – another example of Why You Shouldn’t Update All The Fucking Time, if previous versions of Air still work.

Howl at the moon

