The Year in Review 2011

Do not mess with tradition.

# What did you do in 2011 that you’ve never done before

Travelled to Berlin. On my own as well. And I attended a ‘karonkka’ (for the benefit of any random passers-by: an after-party, in this instance a formal academic one) after a friend defended his dissertation. Both good fun. Oh, and I took Open University courses, haven’t done that before either. And there was skyping with video – not exciting as such, but very crucial for future plans.

# Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Yes and no. I’ve made changes and done things that are sort of in the direction I wanted to go but have failed miserably with some ambitions. I’m not feeling resolution-y, not tonight anyway. Just a basic ‘enjoy life’ approach would be good.

# Did anyone close to you give birth?

If they did they hid it well.

# Did anyone close to you die?

No funerals attended.

# What countries did you visit?

Germany.

# What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

Freedom with my schedules (likely), more challenging work (guaranteed), more time for hobbies (we’ll see).

# What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Dunno. I started a new job on 1 Feb. Moved out of my old flat 30 Dec. Can’t think of any other dates.

# What’s your biggest achievement of the year?

I got a new job. And then had the courage to leave it for something slightly more…I wouldn’t quite say adventurous, although on my scale it is.

# What was your biggest failure?

Still haven’t found the guts to do an unsupported handstand.

# Did you suffer illness or injury?

Just the usual suspects, nothing new, no injuries as such. Found a new doctor for old ailments though, and very nice she was, too.

# What’s the best thing you bought?

Absolutely nothing comes to mind.

# Whose behaviour merited celebration?

On a personal level, all the friends and acquaintances who’ve helped and supported me when I needed it (thanks). More generally…let’s not even pretend that I remember or, you know, know what’s been going on in the world. I’d have to watch some news review first.

# Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

No names to name but the fear of the year for me has been intolerance and racism. Too much of those around.

# Where did most of your money go?

This is always going to be rent, isn’t it?

# What did you get really, really excited about?

I really, really enjoyed the circus acro classes and acro yoga that I took. I’m bad, very bad, but it’s great fun.

# What song will always remind you of 2011?

Among others, this:

The Wicked soundtrack got me through packing but I can’t find a youtube clip I’d like.

# Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Richer or poorer? Thinner or fatter?

  • Possibly a bit happier? How does one measure these things? Well, I’ve got more (a lot) to look forward to at least.
  • I’m temporarily richer. It will pass, soon.
  • Couldn’t fit into old jeans so gave them away and bought new ones. All good.

# What do you wish you’d done more of?

Singing and dancing. The usual.

# What do you wish you’d done less of?

Time-wasting (not that I could always help it).

# How did you spend Christmas?

There were tortillas, a sauna, catching up on sleep, and I was given and I actually read a book that I quite liked. Very relaxing, even if the break was too short.

# Did you fall in love in 2010?

You have to get up before you can fall down again. Or something.

# What was your favourite TV program?

Miranda was beyond brilliant! Highly recommended. It’s rare that I laugh out loud watching telly on my own.

# Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nah. I don’t hate much.

# What was the best book you read?

I read so few, and I can’t remember what they were without my list (yes I have one shut up), and I’m moving so I don’t quite know where that list is. I didn’t get terribly excited about anything.

# What was your greatest musical discovery?

I think picking up the violin more or less regularly all autumn was probably the best thing (playing in a group helped). I’ve also (re?)discovered a fondness for musicals. Next to Normal was very refreshing.

# What did you want and get?

A job. A grant. A place to study. A better doctor. A good year, it seems.

# What did you want and not get?

Rest. Serves me right for doing too many things at once.

# What was your favourite film of this year?

I hardly went to the cinema at all, but I saw Another Year and Pina and liked them both a lot.

# What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Not sure, but I think it was on my birthday that I tried to go and see an old film but that was cancelled, so I had tea with a friend instead, and went to see some dance.

# What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Better time-management would have been key.

# How would you describe your personal fashion concept for 2010?

If you can still fit into it, wear it. If not, get rid of it. “Scruffy”.

# What kept you sane?

Medication. Kind of.

# What celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I didn’t. Or I can’t remember.

# What political issue stirred you the most?

The parliamentary elections were quite stirring, I’d say.

# Who did you miss?

Boring question.

# Who was the best new person you met?

My workmates were lovely, lovely people. I will miss them.

# Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

Moving abroad is Hard. Work.

That’s it. My sacroiliac joint is killing me and I’ll have to go nurse it. And then I’m off to a party, would you believe it… Happy New Year, dears!

Howl at the moon

