My day, my way

Not going to tell you about my day, actually – it’s been ok but nothing much to tell. Instead, I’ll bore you with a meme I spotted at Gena’s and which seemed like the perfect birthday indulgence: the ABCs of me. My advice? Skip to the end (not that it gets more exciting there).

A. Age: Let’s start as I mean to go on: not saying. But a year older, again. And my mother gave me a vase. If that doesn’t make one feel old, nothing will.

B. Bed size: Big enough, but my futon is wearing a bit thin.

C. Chore you dislike: Never been a fan of cleaning the bathroom.

D. Dogs: Never.

E. Essential start to your day: Breakfast. Must have breakfast. I’ve been known to forget tea (although not often), but I never forget to eat.

F. Favourite colours: Blue and orange.

G. Gold or silver: Silver, I guess. Not that I have any.

H. Height: 161

I. Instruments you play(ed): Violin. Not very well. I’ve tried piano and guitar at various times, and I used to be able to get a semi-decent sound out of an alto recorder.

J. Job title: You tell me. I call myself an assistant for want of a more informative title.

K. Kids: Oh no.

L. Live: I think so.

M. Mom’s name: Begins with an A.

N. Nicknames: Not many and none that I like. You may call me Ms Moon.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Probably a couple right after birth?

P. Pet peeves: Untidiness. Most sounds that people make when they’re eating. Noisy neighbours.

Q. Quote from a movie: I have no memory for quotes. *asks internet* “Welease Wodewick!” That’ll have to do.

R. Righty or lefty: Hand or politics? Righty, and lefty, respectively. But I use the mouse with my left hand.

S. Siblings: He knows who he is. Also a couple of self-adopted ones. You can’t have too many brothers. Spare mothers are good, too.

T. Time you wake up: Depends. At my current job, between 6 and 7 am.

U. Underwear: Boring.

V. Vegetables you don’t like: Not many. I’ve almost conquered celery, even. Not a huge fan of parsnips or celeriac.

W. What makes you run late: A fatal combination of perfectionism, stubbornness and indecisiveness. But I’m rarely late when it matters.

X. X-rays you’ve had: Several of my teeth and a couple of my lower back & legs.

Y. Yummy food you make: I don’t. Can’t and won’t in perfect harmony. (I’ve had the occasional success but I’d never offer to cook anyone else a meal, ever.)

Z. Zoo animal you like: It’s not like there are special species just for zoos, is it? Not a big fan of zoos. I do remember being very impressed by camels as a child, though. Something about those eyes.

And that, my darlings, was that.

Howl at the moon

