Under construction

Is Berlin. But more of that anon.

The rest of Monday went roughly as follows: found Rewe, found Alnatura, bought food, ate food, finished my book (reading it, not writing; not really my book at all, I don’t even own it, and now I’m rambling, sorry), watched Fort Boyard subtitled in German because it was the only bloody thing besides news channels that wasn’t dubbed in German, went to bed and slept like a log. I might add that I’d had four hours of sleep the night before and was mainlining painkillers throughout the day (don’t ask).

Yesterday was better. Discovered that no, Berlin cyclists aren’t nearly as scary as Amsterdam cyclists, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Hated not really speaking the language but managed several service encounters without letting on. Just play shy, and ja, nein, danke gets you surprisingly far, assuming you know what you’re being asked.

The day began in the suburbs (although this is an evening picture)

Prenzlauer Berg

and continued with an U-bahn ride to somewhere altogether more ostentatious. Imagine my surprise when I got out of tha station to this:

Fernsehturm

I didn’t go up. Long queue. I just started to walk, and walk, and walk some more. I’ve complained before that my corner of the world is always “under construction” in the summer. I’ll try to stop. Unter den Linden and Museumsinsel were a mess. I started taking pictures of roadworks and construction sites and built quite a collection; here’s a little taster:

Unter den LindenPergamon museum

Then there was the Reichstag. I got this close.

Reichstag

They were cleaning the dome or something. I’m not sure you can just walk in even if the place is open, but don’t plan to visit this week.

A girl needs a loo break (or two or ten), and I was getting desperate (had rather been counting on the good people of Germany letting me use the facilities in their parliament building). But then, at the last minute and completely by chance, I found Dussmann, which not only had a toilet but also CDs I couldn’t resist: Reality and Fantasy by Raphael Gualazzi. Yes, since you ask, I found him via the Eurovision Song Contest, of which I watched about half this year because I wasn’t feeling sleepy enough, and I dare say he was the only good thing in it. Listened to the CD last night and really enjoyed it. (I also bought something by Stuff Smith because violin+jazz=can’t go wrong in my book, but I haven’t listened to it yet.)

Luckily, there was soup just around the corner from Dussmann (I can recommend the service and the lentil soup at Suppenbörse; sadly, standing room only). Walked more. Soon enough, needed the loo again. Found Galeria Kaufhof. They also had ice tea that was basically cold rooibos mixed with grapefruit juice – not bad. And they had clothes.

Dresses

No I didn’t buy any. Not even from the less…Bavarian selection. I just took the long road home and spent half the night searching for things to do and places to go today…

Howl at the moon

