Even if the sun, it is blazing

Nothing much to tell you – just that I’m finally on holiday (hip-hip-hurrah!). I began my two weeks of (relative) leisure last night with an unexpected bout of insomnia, tossing and turning until past 2 am. This might have had something to do with deciding that detective novels are a true sign of summer and that I should indulge.  Things were getting too exciting, and sleep left the building. (I’m just over half way through and so far so good. Not much of a review, I know, but probably the only one you’re getting from me.)

I’m supposed to get an awful lot done today, but I’m already sweating, and I can’t be expected to do many things at once. I did escape the morning sun to an air-conditioned shopping centre for some last minute travel wardrobe building (which I mostly failed at) and to buy strawberries (which I managed to do). 5 kg of strawberry de-stemming and washing and drying and boxing and labelling later, they are cooling in the fridge, expecting to be moved to the freezer soonish. Mission accomplished, and I got lucky this year, these are sweet and big. I wish I could’ve left more to eat now, but I can’t because, hurrah, on Monday I travel.

Ah yes. Travel. Flying out before seven am apparently means either going to the airport the night before or starting my day with a brisk 3,3 km walk with luggage to a bus stop goodness knows where – or getting a taxi. Guess which one I chose. This trip is already costing me more than I’d like… However, I’m excited to go, even with the sword of Damocles that is an unfinished application hanging over my head. (Oh how I laughed. I think this applies to applications as well.) I’ll try to do some travel blogging, but I’m not promising anything. I don’t even know what I’m doing yet. Have I ever been this disorganised about a trip before? Probably not. I should pack. I hate packing. Gah.

And that, I think, is enough randomness for now. Other summer plans include, well, nothing really. Would be nice to go blueberry picking. Here, have a beautiful song. Go on, you know you want to.

One Response to Even if the sun, it is blazing

  1. klai says:

    an unexpected bout of insomnia, tossing and turning until past 2 am.

    You’re not the only one. Although in my case, it was prompted by watching the first ep of DW season 5 after midnight, which naturally resulted in it having begun to get lighter again by the time i was trying to fall asleep…

Howl at the moon

