Apple Rhubarb Chutney

Chutney ingredients

First of all: yes, I do know I’m supposed to make my chutney well in advance to let the flavours develop rather than three nights before I’m planning to eat it, which is what happened last Christmas (and there goes the soundtrack…thanks, George…). And yes, I also know I’m supposed to boil my jars or whatever but I couldn’t be arsed. Sometimes things don’t go according to plan. Sometimes there isn’t any plan at all. And it can still work out all right.

I made chutney. I wanted to make rhubarb chutney but I didn’t have very much rhubarb in the freezer and didn’t want to use it all – and so this apple rhubarb chutney was born. Yes indeed – this recipe is a genuine Moon Rabbit creation. I read recipe after recipe on the interwebs but they all called for ingredients I didn’t have and made quantities I couldn’t cope with. (Last year I made three jars of apple chutney. I only just finished the last jar, and that’s after giving half a jar away. I don’t get through much of the stuff.) I made a note of some interesting ideas and recurring ingredients and decided to go with the flow.

Result: two jars of pretty, fairly sweet chutney. Too little rhubarb, too much apple. Next year, to save me from tears (what? I take my food seriously – although the tears were actually related to my ill-fated mustard making experiment), I’ll pair my rhubarb with something special. But this is nice, too.

Apple rhubarb chutney

  • 120 g chopped, frozen rhubarb
  • 200 g apples, chopped (2 small ones)
  • 1 small red onion, chopped finely
  • 2 cm ginger, grated
  • 1 dl cane sugar
  • 0.5 dl raisins
  • 0.5 dl currants
  • 1 dl apple cider vinegar (could experiment with others to avoid apple overdose)
  • 0.5 dl water
  • chili powder, white pepper, garam masala, salt – generous pinches (sorry, I didn’t measure them – 1 tsp each of the spices and 0.5 tsp salt?)

Cook slowly on low heat for 1 – 1.5 hours and pour immediately into clean jars, closing the lids right away.

A jar of chutney

Howl at the moon

