The year in review 2010

Fear not, I’m certainly not going to bother with the final #reverb10 prompt (something fluffy about my “core story”). Tradition, however, is something you can’t argue with, so I’m doing it again: the year in review, 2010 edition.

# What did you do in 2010 that you’ve never done before?

Knitted cables, froze tofu, ran for two hours without stopping, applied for grants, saw a gig at Tavastia. Nothing huge.

# Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

They weren’t resolutions as such, just plans and wishes. I just read through the sheet of paper from a year ago and realised that although I kind of tried, at least occasionally, I achieved hardly any of the goals I’d set. I’ll write up a new list but I think I need a completely different approach if it’s going to be of any use.

# Did anyone close to you give birth?

No; I know people who had babies in 2010 but it’s not like I’ve actually seen the kiddies.

# Did anyone close to you die?

Luckily, again, no.

# What countries did you visit?

England, my England. I’m so predictable it hurts.

# What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

Satisfying work, guilt-free play-time and more time with friends.

# What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

4 July was my very own independence day of sorts…I doubt I’ll remember that for long, though.

# What’s your biggest achievement of the year?

As I’ve said a thousand times before, I took the plunge and left a dead end job. An anti-achievement, if you like.

# What was your biggest failure?

Still thinking about a job interview that didn’t quite go to plan. Live and learn…

# Did you suffer illness or injury?

I’ll quote myself from last year: “The chronic stuff doesn’t really go away – hence “chronic”. Nothing out of the ordinary.”

# What’s the best thing you bought?

Proper running gear. Who would have thought it can make such a huge difference to training motivation, especially in winter. The Bamix is good, too – almond butter, flax meal, soft hummus…

# Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Yours, I’m sure. :)

# Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

The people who keep saying that climate change isn’t “real” because we happened to have a year of frost and snow make me feel a bit hopeless. I don’t understand science but I hope scientists do and they seem pretty convinced that temperatures, they are a-changing. What’s more, it really annoys me when those people, based purely on their superior intuition, first decide that they don’t believe in climate change and then draw the conclusion that all’s well with the world and that they (we) can keep on consuming as before.

I feel a poorly argued rant coming on, so I’d better stop now. Grr.

# Where did most of your money go?

Rent – where else?

# What did you get really, really excited about?

Not sure “excited” is the right word, but I’ve been knitting and crocheting more than before. Moab Is My Washpot kept me very, very interested for the few days it took me to devour it. Contrary to my expectations, I really enjoyed Wicked. It was great to see Ed Harcourt live. But truth be told, I could do with more excitement next year…

# What song will always remind you of 2010?

Anything from Lustre.

# Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Richer or poorer? Thinner or fatter?

I’m may not be happier but I am more aware of what I can do so as not to become SADder. (Happy lamp! Vitamin D supplements! Talk to people!)

I’m not poor as such, I don’t think, but I am, shall we say, more monetarily-challenged than I was a year ago. Again.

Haven’t weighed myself recently but I’d say I’m roughly the same, give or take a kg or few.

# What do you wish you’d done more of?

All the artsy-fartsy stuff, and travelling (she said with mixed feelings), and learning new things, and, um, knowing what I want to do when I grow up?!

# What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying. Setting myself up for failure.

# How did you spend Christmas?

Food, sauna & pressies with family; long walks and too many green marmalades at home.

# Did you fall in love in 2010?

Not that I recall.

# What was your favourite TV program?

I don’t have a television so my favourites tend to stay pretty much the same. QI, HIGNFY, Dr Who (but I’m watching them on DVD and I’m sadly behind – haven’t even started on the new doctor yet). Managed to see Victorian Farm, which was brilliant.

# Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nope.

# What was the best book you read?

I say this every year, but I didn’t read as much as I’d like to have done. Stephen Fry’s Moab Is My Washpot, as already mentioned, was my most inspiring read of the year.

# What was your greatest musical discovery?

It wasn’t exactly a new discovery…more an obsession. Yes, I have listened to more Ed Harcourt since June than is sensible and right. You may have guessed – I keep mentioning the guy…

# What did you want and get?

A summer holiday.

# What did you want and not get?

What didn’t I want… Let’s just say “acts of acceptance”. If that makes sense.

# What was your favourite film of this year?

2010 wasn’t an especially interesting film year for me. Scott Pilgrim was surprisingly entertaining, if too loud; A Single Man made me cry. But I don’t think I can name a favourite.

# What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I ran, saw some friends I used to study with and then went to see contemporary dance with my aunt. Unsurprisingly, I was yet another year older.

# What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I don’t know…um…a secret admirer? No, that would just be creepy. Public recognition of my many well-hidden talents, perhaps? Hmm. Vague but truthful: doing & learning more things.

# How would you describe your personal fashion concept for 2010?

“Fashion” might be overstating it. I aspire to tweedy & androgynous; I achieve “still wearing the cheap, unflattering and mismatched high street stuff I wore last year, and the year before, and the year before that (if it still fits)”. I know, such a complex look, isn’t it? :)

# What kept you sane?

Who said anything about sane?

# What celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I have no new revelations to make. If you want to get me Tim’s new Ready For This DVD (or any related merchandise), I won’t be too proud to grab it with both hands while doing a happy dance and squealing with joy.

# What political issue stirred you the most?

Arts, education & healthcare funding cuts. Scary stuff. Short-sighted.

# Who did you miss?

Strangely, my younger self, a little bit. And some other people, sometimes. Mostly when they weren’t there.

# Who was the best new person you met?

I didn’t really meet very many people at all – but I did discover new bloggers I like that I’m too shy to mention here.

# Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

Love your flaws, embrace your failures, seek imperfection. (Easier said than done.)

Phew. That took a while. I hear fireworks – early ones, but it’s starting…shame about the clouds. Nice and mild, though, might even go out for a bit. Lovely weather for running this morning: -5 C and no wind. If only I hadn’t got lost among horse paths and had to take a “short cut” through the woods, trudging along up to my knees in snow…the experience rekindled my love affair with my Gore Tex running shoes. No wet feet!

I hope you’re enjoying your New Year’s Eve; may your 2011 be utterly brilliant!

Howl at the moon

