Snow

#reverb10 prompt: Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

Sleep? I really appreciate a good night’s sleep when I can get it… Friends – but I say that every year. For good reason, of course. However, my nomination for “most appreciated” in 2010 is…ta-dah…snow!

It really has been a very snowy year, and although there’s nothing new in that as such (irregular, yes; new, not so much), and in spite of all the inconvenience, I can’t help but feel a tiny happiness every time I see a bench or a branch or a car (sorry, car owners) almost completely hidden from view. And then there’s the light! The darkness descends, as it is doing right now (a little past 3 pm), ridiculously early, but this being the city, the snow then multiplies the light from street lamps, Xmas lights, windows, and all is a-sparkle.

Even though it makes running more challenging, even though it wets my boots (I really need new ones, I really really do), even though it can be treacherously slippery, bumpy, fall-through-y – I quite like snow. I think I’ll go out in a minute to better appreciate the blue dusk.

By the way, the first Christmas cards arrived today. ‘Tis truly starting to be the season. Not quite ready yet, me…

Howl at the moon

