Alive

#reverb10 prompt: Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

Tired. From travelling, from arriving late, from sleeping very little in a strange place, from running around a foreign city all day long, from standing too long, from having had my emotions poked and stirred and pushed around. Surrounded by people. I know some of them. It’s dark. The slightly tilted floor makes my calves hurt. The smell of someone’s wine. Trying to find openings in the crowd to see better but mostly just listening. Moving to make standing easier, almost dancing, then stopping, too self-conscious. A third wheel? I don’t really mind. Quite warm. Hope it doesn’t rain on the way back. A little too much of everything. Or too little? Must cry but the tears are thankfully silent. And it’s fine, I really don’t mind. I do wonder how I’m ever going to walk another step.

2 Responses to Alive

  1. sam says:

    Good gig, that.

  2. sam says:

    .. I meant:

    Good gig, that.

Howl at the moon

