Soup for the sapless

My temperature went up and down, up and down all night and the general theme of not feeling very well seems to continue today. And so I made soup.

I looked up a few recipes to get an idea of how I might go about making borscht and then went with the ingredients I happened to have to hand (beets, obv, plus cabbage, carrot, onion, garlic & spices). I’m not giving you the recipe because the taste wasn’t quite right. Not bad, just a little bland. I can’t tell whether it’s because I can’t really taste anything much at the moment or because I didn’t get the seasoning right. It needed something. Salt? Tamari/soy sauce might have helped to give it some depth, actually. I used water instead of broth because I haven’t found a cube or concentrate that I like but I’m guessing real broth would have made the necessary difference.

Borscht

Borscht to chase the cold away, cashew "cheese" and parsley.

I didn’t have dill or vegan yoghurt / sour cream so served the soup with cashew spread and parsley. A surprisingly good combination, actually.

[What’s with the pictures? I swear that photo looked just fine before I uploaded it and now it’s all blurry. Help, anyone?]

One Response to Soup for the sapless

  1. Tuomas says:

    The picture looks fine to me. Not a fan of borscht though.

Howl at the moon

