It’s cabbage. Again.

Cabbage pie

Yum!

I’m a cabbage girl. Some countries may be enjoying the height of pumpkin season; in Finland it’s cabbage (and beets and carrots and the like) from now until I don’t even want to think about when. Good thing I like cabbage, then.

Out of the oven

Out of the oven

I thought I’d try something new and, since I’m trying to learn more about baking things that are vegan and gluten-free, decided on this recipe (in Finnish). And then tweaked it here, there and everywhere. It’s basically the same, though. If you don’t read Finnish and want to know more about the original, leave a comment. Here’s what I did:

  • Boil, peal and mash three medium-sized potatoes.
  • Add 1/2 dl oat milk and 135 g of vegan margarine, melted. Mix well.
  • Keep mixing between adding 1 dl potato starch, 1 1/2 dl buckwheat flour, 1 dl brown rice flour, 2 tsp baking powder and a pinch of salt.
  • Mix well, finally by hand to form a ball of dough. Chill for 2 hours (original instructions) or overnight (as I did after wrapping the dough in cling film).
  • Chop your cabbage; I had a small head that I forgot to weigh. 1/2 kg? Fry it in oil (toasted sesame in my version), seasoned with tamari sauce, cane syrup and brown rice vinegar (or just salt, sugar and regular vinegar as in the original) until cooked.
  • I did all of this on the night before so my cabbage was cool by the time I rolled out the dough, put the cabbage on it, folded the dough over the filling pinching the seam tightly and baked the whole thing at 200 C for 30 minutes. Because of my lack of experience in pie-making I decided to only use about 2/3 to 3/4 of the dough and maybe half the filling.
Pie folding

Folding: not as easy as I'd hoped, not as difficult as I'd feared

The verdict: great taste. Buckwheat and cabbage really do go well together. The dough is nice but quite crumbly and a bit difficult to handle – although that could just be me and my inferior pie-making skills. I see potential, though; I’m thinking less buckwheat, perhaps a hint of xanthan gum and gluten free joulutorttu, here I come!

VeganMoFo 2010 logo

One Response to It’s cabbage. Again.

  1. sam says:

    Buckwheat is crumbly. That’s why buckwheat noodles are a bugger to make, and why store-bought ones almost always have wheat in them. And why proper soba noodles don’t contain wheat, but contain some kinda yam which helps bind them.

Howl at the moon

