Buckwheat Cabbage Casserole

I was supposed to spend the weekend cooking, baking and cooking some more, but somehow laziness, work and some more laziness got in the way. I’m trying to accomplish too many things at once and suddenly feel a bit stressed out – but it’s worth pointing out that most of my tasks and deadlines at the moment are completely self-imposed, as is therefore the stress they provoke. Bleh. But on to food. Luckily, I have some fairly recent kitchen escapades to report, the first of which is a brilliant new (to me, anyway) version of my old favourite: cabbage casserole.

Buckwheat cabbage casserole

Comfort food!

What’s new about this dish is the choice of buckwheat over the more common – at least in my childhood – rice. Buckwheat adds a whole new layer of earthy flavour and complements the sweetness of the cabbage perfectly. And yes, my mum used to put meat in this and I guess you could use soy granules or something, but it’s absolutely unnecessary. What I did add was crushed walnuts, added on top for the last maybe ten minutes of baking for texture and that little bit of extra flavour. Lovely.

I found the recipe (in Finnish) here; below is my English translation with comments.

Buckwheat Cabbage Casserole

  • 2 dl buckwheat
  • c. 700 g cabbage
  • 1 small onion (my addition)
  • 2 – 3 tbls brown syrup (I used 2 tbls cane syrup)
  • salt
  • marjoram
  • white pepper
  • large handful of chopped walnuts (my addition)

Rinse the buckwheat and cook in 4dl of water or vegetable stock (I used water) until cooked – c. 25 minutes.

Chop the onion and fry in a large saucepan with a drop of oil until soft and a little browned. Chop the cabbage, not too finely, and add to the pan. There’ll be lots but it shrinks. Fry for a few minutes, the add some water (2-3 dl) and cook slowly until the cabbage begins to soften properly.

Mix the buckwheat, onion & cabbage and the spices and bake in an oiled oven dish at 200 C for about an hour. Add the walnuts on top about 10 minutes before taking the dish out of the oven.

Serve with lingonberries!

VeganMoFo 2010 logo

Howl at the moon

