Sensual pleasures: roasting peppers

Roasted peppers

The skin and the skinned, and the whole thing in between

Since lunch today will be all about left-overs and since the weather’s stupidly gloomy again, here’s a little something I made earlier that cheers me up: roasted bright red bell peppers. Bell peppers tend to be ridiculously expensive so I don’t usually buy them, but I found some on sale and bought three and wondered how I could make them last. Of course, here’s how:

  • preheat the oven to 225-250 ℃ (and use the heat to bake something else as well; I made bread),
  • wash, half and deseed the peppers,
  • place them cut side down on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper and
  • roast for 12-15 minutes or until covered in black spots.

Leave to cool, enjoying the sweet smell, and then do my absolute favourite thing to do with vegetables, ever: skin them with your bare hands. Very satisfying work. Place in a glass jar, cover with oil (I used olive) and store in the fridge. Eat with anything you like and hope they last forever, which they won’t, but mine are still fine after a week or so.

VeganMoFo 2010 logo

One Response to Sensual pleasures: roasting peppers

  1. sam says:

    I usually add balsamic vinegar too. Good stuff.

Howl at the moon

