Butter Bean Mash

VeganMoFo 2010 logo

I know I said I wouldn’t post original recipes, and this is as close to one as I’m ever going to get, but do you remember those crunchy butter beans from yesterday? Here’s what happened to them today. I didn’t measure anything so these are all just estimates:

  • 5-6 dl cooked butter beans
  • 2-3 tbls olive oil
  • 1 tbls ground hemp seed
  • a fistful of fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • a few black/kalamata olives, chopped
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • a pinch of chili flakes

Blend/mash the beans a little to start with, then add everything else and blend/mix. I used my Bamix and got a nice creamy result but if your beans are buttery soft (rather than a little wooden, *grumble*) I bet you could mash them by hand, chop the olives and basil slightly finer before adding them and just mix everything together for a perfectly pleasant outcome. And of course you can add salt or any spices you like – it’s very mild the way I made it.

I had some for lunch, sandwiched between roasted turnip slices and baby spinach, and very good it was too. Heat it up for a lovely nutty flavour from the hemp. Also works as a cold sandwich spread/dip but I’d suggest adding more spices and perhaps some acidity – now I could mainly taste the olives but not much else. Still nice, though.

Butter bean mash

Roasted turnip slices, fresh baby spinach and butter bean mash with hemp seed.

Howl at the moon

