Going places

I don’t travel much, at least not compared to most people I know. When I do, I’m filled with fear. What if my luggage gets lost? What if something happens to my home while I’m away? What if something terrible happens in my destination? What if the plane crashes? What if the ship sinks? And so on, and on and bloody on. The longer it has been since I last travelled the worse my anxieties.

Soon, after almost two years since my last trip, I’m about to leave the country again – not for long and nowhere terribly exotic but far enough for all my usual worries to emerge. Could not have read this at a better time. I know I need to make changes in my life and change is always a bit frightening (ok, yes, completely terrifying) but the more I wish to cling on to the safe and familiar the more important it is that I do just the opposite. It is time. Time to let go of the old and time to find something new. Might as well start with a short holiday.

One Response to Going places

  1. Tuomas says:

    Well, I certainly think that travelling is good for you, although it can get a bit tiresome sometimes. As to change, one of the best things ever for me was to move to a different country, it certainly broadens your horizons. Now I’ve been stuck here for five years though, I think it’s about time to introduce a big change again…

Howl at the moon

