Moonlit Kitchen: The Stalker’s Tale

I’ve neglected to tell you my stalk-of-success story…

Celery. Hated it. Decided that hating a vegetable isn’t a very grown-up thing to do. Tastes can be learnt and all that. Bought a bunch of celery stalks.

They sat in the fridge for a week. We exchanged suspicious glances but nothing further. Until I finally decided to face my green stalker (yes I’m overdoing the pun terribly, get over it). I took two sticks, sliced them very thinly, sauteed them in olive oil until very soft and then threw them in a spicy tomato-bean stew. And – success! The stew was none the worse for its green inhabitants, whose flavour by now was very mild and even enjoyable.

Next up, tofu with a miso dressing. Again, the thinly sliced celery went into the pan for a looooong time and with other strong flavours and came out perfectly edible. Brilliant!

Feeling adventurous, I added some raw celery on hummus-topped bread. I had my doubts but it had to be done, and I survived. A little goes a long way, though. Thin slices would have been more palatable than longer stalky bits.

Finally, the ultimate test: just bite into it. Was I ready for the challenge? Not really. I had some apple as well and planned alternating between the two, but could only manage a few bites until I had to give up. But I think it’s doable. Take a break, a week or two, and get a new bunch, and keep adding it to cooked dishes until the taste is familiar enough, then maybe to salads and in sandwiches but in small amounts and finely chopped… I’ll get there. I shall be victorious!

2 Responses to Moonlit Kitchen: The Stalker’s Tale

  1. Tuomas says:

    Ugh, celery is one of the few veggies that I don’t like either. Raw in salads is the worst, I guess it might be ok if cooked.

  2. sam says:

    I must say your endeavour is highly commendable. But it doesn’t make me want to attempt a similar challenge. ;)

Howl at the moon

