Moonlit Kitchen Taste School

*Miso soup, while still not a huge favourite, is sooooo simple to make that I’m going to persist and keep eating it until I like it. Made some myself for the first time today.

*Dried figs are the latest food to prove that my taste buds are capable of improvement: used to hate them – now I crave them.

*I’ve been eyeing celery in the shops lately. I absolutely hate it, always have, never buy it and only ever eat it by unfortunate accident. But. It’s supposed to be healthy. It would add another commonly available vegetable to my repertoire. It’s used in recipes all the time and, since I already mostly leave onions out of anything I cook (bah, digestive issues…), it would be nice to be able to actually include an ingredient or two. What say ye? Shall I go forth and get me some stalks and/or roots? Actually, which one should I go for, for taste bud educational purposes?

3 Responses to Moonlit Kitchen Taste School

  1. sam says:

    I love celeriac (juuriselleri), but don’t like them stalks. Except cooked.

    But I was gonna say of miso – try making a stock out of whatever suits your fancy and then adding miso to that. Or vice versa, but the point being that miso on its own can be a bit blah, but with a good stock it can be genius. Also, there’re different types of miso, from pale to dark and from smooth to chunky (restaurant miso tends to be pale/mid-range and smooth). Note also that a lot of miso contains fish/kelp stock, so that’s something to keep an eye on.

    • moonwriting says:

      Raw, cooked, stalks, lumps, I hate it all, so it’s going to be a challenge…

      P&S had three different shades of (expensive?) miso and I read the descriptions carefully (not sure I read the ingredients list but I usually do so should be safe) and picked the middle one (Sanchi’s Genmai, if I remember correctly). What I like is how easy it can be – just add hot water – so I need to learn to like it as is. I’ve never made stock (other than from a cube, yuck) and I doubt I ever will. I did make sauce, though – http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/walnut-miso-noodles-recipe.html but modified and liked that a lot.

      • sam says:

        You can get miso for decent money in Tokyokan and for cheaper in various ethnic food shops in Hakaniemi etc. Variously labelled, though! so gotta be careful. But the thing is – “just add hot water” > “just add hot stock”, for miso alone can be boring, it’s in combination with other things that it blooms. And you can also use it for things like nasu dengaku (google that)…

Howl at the moon

