The year in review 2009

I’ve done it before and I’m doing it again, even though it’s getting a bit old and boring – many of my answers don’t change much from year to year. Still: what was 2009 all about? Let’s find out.

# What did you do in 2009 that you’ve never done before?

Spent Christmas Eve alone. Not big and significant, no, but it wasn’t a big year for firsts.

# Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn’t make resolutions, again, just a wish list type thing. Almost half of it happened. I’ll try again next year, yes.

# Did anyone close to you give birth?

Not very close, but people do keep procreating…

# Did anyone close to you die?

Luckily, no.

# What countries did you visit?

None at all.

# What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

Courage, determination and sleep.

# What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I’m not good with dates at all. Independence day was 6 December, but it usually is. That’s all you’re getting from me.

# What’s your biggest achievement of the year?

Moving to a nicer, quieter place? Just surviving, really. There were some tough times.

# What was your biggest failure?

Let’s not go there. I’m trying to avoid excess negative thinking.

# Did you suffer illness or injury?

The chronic stuff doesn’t really go away – hence “chronic”. Nothing out of the ordinary.

# What’s the best thing you bought?

A freezer. Wouldn’t want to be without one. (Last year’s choice, my glasses, were and still are good, hooray.)

# Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Friends and family, for being there when I needed them. I know nothing about the wider world.

# Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Thoughtless and intolerant people in general.

# Where did most of your money go?

Living.

# What did you get really, really excited about?

Really, really excited? I dunno. Beautiful running weather? Yoga when it’s taught well. Theatre. Feeling healthier and more in control, if only temporarily.

# What song will always remind you of 2009?

Lehmä, by Tötterssön.

# Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Richer or poorer? Thinner or fatter?

Possibly a little happier. A little less tired, at least.

Poorer in terms of money. Richer in terms of time.

Not thinner but not fatter either. Roughly the same. A bit of festive extra hanging about my person.

# What do you wish you’d done more of?

Dance. Read. Plan ahead.

# What do you wish you’d done less of?

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but procrastinating. And letting negative things get to me.

# How did you spend Christmas?

On my own, cooking and enjoying it, and then with family.

# Did you fall in love in 2009?

With a thing or two.

# What was your favourite TV program?

My favourites haven’t changed: QI & Dr Who are at the top of my list. Coupling was a pleasant surprise.

# Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nope.

# What was the best book you read?

I didn’t read enough…Csikszentmihalyi’s Flow left a mark. And I discovered Barbara Pym.

# What was your greatest musical discovery?

Picking up the violin and playing again, and especially playing with a friend. Good times.

# What did you want and get?

A role. Enough work to almost get by. Support.

# What did you want and not get?

The ability to settle for what I’ve got. But did I really want that in the first place?

# What was your favourite film of this year?

Hmm. Star Trek was entertaining enough but quickly forgotten. Coraline was quite nice, as was Ponyo, and Los abrazos rotos was very good. But my favourite? Mimi wo sumaseba. A re-release, I know, but the first release here…

# What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I hung out with friends and enjoyed the night of the arts, and I was a year older than the year before.

# What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Discovering my latent brilliance in all things creative.

# How would you describe your personal fashion concept for 2009?

Jeans and sweats. I’ll never grow up.

# What kept you sane?

Nuts.

# What celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Last year’s answer will do perfectly well: Tim. Or David. No, Tim. But also David.

# What political issue stirred you the most?

The insanity of consumerism.

# Who did you miss?

The one who wasn’t there.

# Who was the best new person you met?

I refuse to play favourites. I did meet a bunch of nice theatricals, so I’ll say them, collectively.

# Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

Seek flow. Then go with the flow.

Howl at the moon

