O, swear not by the moon, the inconstant moon #22

I’m suffering from blogger’s block, but I’ll be damned if I let that stop me from completing my quantity-over-quality-month of posting every day, not when I’ve come this far already. Positive thinking. Anything goes. Let me then share with you some teabag wisdom straight off the bag (herbal bedtime spice mix; I thought it would be fine since it has a multitude of ingredients besides camomile – I can’t stand camomile – but of course it mostly tastes like camomile, damnit):

Bliss is a constant state of mind, undisturbed by gain or loss.

What? I mean…what? I suppose my state of mind is so far from Ayurvedic balance that the sentence doesn’t even compute. I’m kind of disturbed by the tone my teabag is taking – it seems somehow smugly superior. “Want to know about bliss? Well, you can’t have it. Not while you continue to live in the world.” (As I do, taking in gains and losses and generally being changed by them – disturbed, if you will.) What bugs me the most is the complete and utter failure of my teabag to tell me where to look for this elusive “bliss” it seems to have found. If you are determined to share your wisdom with someone, at least make it a bit more accessible. Even just tell me where not to look for it, you know, “Bliss cannot be found behind the radiator,” so that I can stop worrying about cleaning behind the radiator.

And isn’t “a constant state of mind” an oxymoron? The mind can be many things but constant surely isn’t one of them. Or maybe that’s just me.

I’ll put my inconstant mind to bed in a minute and save you from more drivel. Good night, my friends within boxes as well as without.

LOLcats: Friends

Howl at the moon

