Moonlit Kitchen presents: relative success #12

No, I didn’t feel like cooking today, but I did anyway. Time for kitchen pictures. (Yes, I barely know how to point the camera in the right direction. I never said the pics would be any good, mind you.)

My hoard from the best Asian food market in town. Surprisingly cheap, too. Only the tapioca flour got used in tonight’s efforts, though.

Shopping

Nori, cashews, gram flour, agar agar powder, tapioca flour.

For dinner, a very, very excellent potato mushroom bake following Elizavegan’s recipe (thanks!). I had to leave out the onion because it doesn’t agree with me, and mine didn’t look like a tart like the original does, but it was very tasty.

Potato mushroom bake

You can't go wrong with baked potatoes and mushrooms, can you?

Eaten with brussel sprouts (my current favourite vegetable), spinach and cucumber. A larger salad would be good – I was tempted to eat all the ‘tatoes in one go.

Dinner

I just wanted to include a picture with brussel sprouts, the love of my life...

And since the oven was warm anyway and baking is therapy and I want to find more uses for polenta and I found Karina’s intriguing recipe for polenta muffins, here they are: apple polenta muffins. The recipe is basically Karina’s, but I substituted apples (+ a handful of raisins) for pears, used oat milk and left out the sugar. They were sweet enough for me like this – I tend to prefer bread-like muffins – but probably best eaten warm. Nice texture, wonderful smell, many possibilities for variation – and vegan & (except for the oatmilk in my version) gluten free. Not bad for a humble muffin.

Apple polenta muffins

Fresh from the oven.

2 Responses to Moonlit Kitchen presents: relative success #12

  1. Tuomas says:

    Looks nice. I shall leave you in charge of Christmas cooking then! ;)

  2. Sam says:

    mmm, sprouts… :)

Howl at the moon

