In honour of VeganMoFo

In honour of  VeganMoFo and to resurrect this little blog of mine, here’s a survey. Yes yes, lame, I know, but whatever works…

1. Favorite non-dairy milk?
Organic oat milk is the one I use. Not a big fan of soy, never tried rice, would like to try almond but it’s too expensive. And so far I’ve been too lazy to try and make my own. Nor do I have a blender.

2. What are the top 3 dishes/recipes you are planning to cook?
I don’t…plan that often. (Okay, I don’t cook very often.) I think I need to make something with brussel sprouts soon, they’ve been calling my name. And I’d like to try some gluten-free vegan baking, plus vegan cheese thingies. But wherefore art thou, blender? Hard work without one.

3. Topping of choice for popcorn?
Just a touch of salt.

4. Most disastrous recipe/meal failure?
I block them from memory. Otherwise I’d never cook again.

5. Favorite pickled item?
I’m not a pickle fan as such. Cucumbers are the ones I occasionally buy and then have in my fridge for years…and small pickled onions are wonderful in some dishes.

6. How do you organize your recipes?
There’s a folder of scraps, and a notebook with recipes I’ve tried, and an ever-growing bookmark folder on my computer, and some old text files, and a few rarely used cookbooks. But when I need a recipe I actually just tend to google if one of my few go-to recipes is not enough.

7. Compost, trash, or garbage disposal?
Trash/recycling. I wish I could compost (I wish I had a garden).

8. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)?
Blah…nut & seed mix (for variety), oats and apples.

9. Fondest food memory from your childhood?
Waking up at my grandmother’s and staying in bed, listening while she made pancakes and went to get a small jar of strawberry jam from the cellar. And then eating it all, of course. One of many fond memories.

10. Favorite vegan ice cream?
There’s not that much variety on offer in this country of ours and what there is tends to come with a dodgy ingredients list. Vanilla Oatly works in a pinch.

11. Most loved kitchen appliance?
My adjustable-temperature kettle. Tea, mmm. I wish I could say “my Vitamix“. Or even “my KitchenAid“. Ah well.

12. Spice/herb you would die without?
Don’t be silly. Thyme is very very good, cinnamon goes with most things sweet and cardamom is one of the best smells, but I think my death should be of graver causes than lack of spice.

13. Cookbook you have owned for the longest time?
My home economics text book. I’ve had it – and used it – since I was thirteen.

14. Favorite flavor of jam/jelly?
Raspberries are best eaten in jam. But it all depends on the quality of the jam and what I’m eating it with.

15. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend?
I never feed other people, and I don’t have a repertoire of vegan dishes I can cook. I’d probably make a salad. Possibly some kind of risotto, or a vegetable soup.

16. Seitan, tofu, or tempeh?
Tofu. Never tried seitan; tempeh I can’t stand. But I hardly ever have tofu at home, only when I’m out and it’s the only/least problematic vegetarian-friendly option on the menu

17. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)?
If I could, I’d always cook in the morning, never at night. And breakfast will forever be the best meal of the day for me.

18. What is sitting on top of your refrigerator?
An extra shelf from the fridge.

19. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking.
Strawberries, blueberries, lingonberries. (I could do the rest as well, it’s been stocked quite recently.)

20. What’s on your grocery list?
Bananas & apples, whatever vegetables look good, oat milk. Nuts & seeds & dried apricots & oats if I’m running low. Other stuff as needed.

21. Favorite grocery store?
Nah, I don’t have one. I shop around for best deals and a wide selection.

22. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet.
Um, cheese. *blushing*

23. Food blog you read the most.
Bloglines tells me where to go, but the ones I like best are Diet, Dessert and Dogs, Choosing Raw and smitten kitchen. Good writing and inspiration.

24. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate?
I have too little experience to give definite answers…I like licorice but not the gluten free stuff I tried once. Good dark chocolate, perhaps with orange, is always a winner.

25. Most extravagant food item purchased lately?
Cocoa nibs. Expensive and addictive. They turn any breakfast into a feast.

26. Ingredients you are scared to work with?
Seaweed, artichokes, unfamiliar mushrooms.

That’s it. Goodnight and goodbye!

Howl at the moon

