Spreekt u Nederlands?

A quick side note: I was browsing the site of a Belgian online shop, as you do (looking for a good deal on a really expensive blender, if you must know), and suspecting that the English version might be out of date I decided to take a look at the original one…s. A choice to be made. French? Five years of it, back in my school days. Dutch? Never took a course of any kind, can’t speak a word. Yet I instinctively clicked on “NL” and only later paused to wonder why. I mean, I didn’t even consider trying the French version – it was obvious that I’d fare much better with Dutch. Obviously “not for school but for life” doesn’t hold true for my language studies. Although of course Dutch is a wonderfully approachable language.

Howl at the moon

