The year in review – memetastic

It seems I need a little help remembering. I did this last year, I think, and here we go again with the year in review:

# What did you do in 2008 that you’ve never done before?

Lots. Went to Lapland. Saw live comedy gigs in London. Dressed up as Baby Spice (don’t ask). Taught English.

# Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I made an imperative wish list rather than resolutions so it wasn’t really about keeping them but about believing in them enough to do something about them. And about luck, mainly. Some of it worked out, some didn’t. I’ll do the same again, methinks, but in greater detail.

# Did anyone close to you give birth?

Close? Not really. Not yet. Some other people did.

# Did anyone close to you die?

No.

# What countries did you visit?

Old Blighty, that’s all.

# What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

Self-confidence, peace & quiet, work that I like etc etc.

# What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

My memory isn’t very etch-y. 19 December was the last day of work before the holiday, but I doubt that date will stay with me beyond work starting again next year.

# What’s your biggest achievement of the year?

Graduating.

# What was your biggest failure?

I don’t think I’ve failed as such… Work sometimes feels like failing on a daily basis, but it’s not, really; it’s actually surviving on a daily basis. I could have been more adventurous, I guess. Let’s say not being adventurous enough.

# Did you suffer illness or injury?

Just the same old. And this nasty holiday flu.

# What’s the best thing you bought?

Hopefully my new glasses (ordered yesterday!).

# Whose behavior merited celebration?

I have good friends. They know who they are. I’m not at all news-savvy so that’s all you’re getting from me.

# Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I wouldn’t say appalled, but sometimes the noise level makes me depressed, so I’ll say Them.

# Where did most of your money go?

Into a different bank. (I changed banks this year and had all but forgotten it already; I’ve been happy with the new one. Knock on wood.)

# What did you get really, really excited about?

London.

# What song will always remind you of 2008?

Anything and everything by Reino and the Rhinos.

# Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Richer or poorer? Thinner or fatter?

I’m a little sad today, but on the whole I’d say about the same. I don’t know, it changes all the time.

Richer, because I’ve been working, but then again the value of money isn’t what it used to be.

I’m ever so slightly thinner than at this time last year which isn’t much of an accomplishment considering my size a year ago

# What do you wish you’d done more of?

Dance. Exercise. Socialize. Create.

# What do you wish you’d done less of?

Work and worry about work.

# How did you spend Christmas?

With family, with a cold.

# Did you fall in love in 2008?

Nah. Had a crush, though.

# What was your favorite TV program?

Didn’t watch any, except on DVD/internet. Loved Dr Who & QI, enjoyed an awful lot of Gilmore Girls, discovered Samurai Jack.

# Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No, I don’t think so.

# What was the best book you read?

I didn’t read all that much, unfortunately. Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy was interesting enough but I didn’t like the last book. Some ok Pratchett, some old favourites re-read, My Booky Wook because I just had to…but nothing stands out as The Read of the year.

# What was your greatest musical discovery?

Reino & the Rhinos. And to a lesser extent Flipron.

# What did you want and get?

Tim’s DVD! Hurrah!

# What did you want and not get?

Not telling. Maybe I’ll get it next year. Can’t afford to jinx it.

# What was your favorite film of this year?

What did I even see? Wall-E I liked, and Vicky Christina Barcelona…oh but Once must have been my favourite.

# What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I worked. And had a salad with a friend. And it was the big 3-0.

# What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Just one? More time for dancing.

# How would you describe your personal fashion concept for 2008?

Very jeans-and-shirts based. The first part of the year was more about sweats, though.

# What kept you sane?

Who says I’m sane?

# What celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Tim. Or David. No, Tim. But also David.

# What political issue stirred you the most?

It’s just the whole climate thing, I guess. Environment on the whole. I’m shaken rather than stirred.

# Who did you miss?

I’m not a big misser, really. My friends, at times.

# Who was the best new person you met?

I’ve met many new people, but the same thing happened last year and they didn’t stick. I’m hoping to have made at least two new friends. Time will tell. Define ‘best’?

# Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

This too shall pass. And it always does. Always.

Howl at the moon

