The White Stuff

Not only am I trying to post every day for a month, I’m also trying to get rid of – or at least temporarily detox from – a serious addiction. My drug of choice can often be found in white, powdery form, but it may and usually does hide behind all sorts of disguises. It’s the most addictive thing in the world and, after almost three days almost without any, I’m still experiencing withdrawal symptoms from this sudden lack of sugar in my system.

I know I can do this. I’ve done it before (and failed eventually, obviously). I’ve yet to reach a state where I’m not constantly thinking about sugar instead of eating it – does it exist? How long would I have to keep this deprivation thing going to have hope of getting there? Questions, questions. Now let me go find some fruit (allowed) and bread (ditto, if no sugar was used in baking it). I’m such a cheat…

Howl at the moon

